Monday, May 14, 2018

Snort.org update, user accounts, and mailing list assistance

To ensure that our users have control over their accounts, we have added a new feature to Snort.org (for some reason, we never had)... if you no longer require your account on Snort.org, you may now delete it.

After you log into your account, you will see a new "Delete Account" button:



This action will delete your account (which contains your email address, last logged in IP, and oinkcode).  In addition to deleting your account, it will also attempt to unsubscribe you from our four mailing lists.

We've also added the ability to subscribe and unsubscribe from the mailing lists below the "Login" section of the account.  Placing a checkbox in the mailing list you'd like to subscribe (or unsubscribe) to, and hitting the appropriate button (Subscribe on the left or Unsubscribe on the right) will send an email to the mailing list with your request. In turn, you will be required to verify your request via an email that will be sent to your inbox.  This is a double confirmation.

That's it!  Snort.org holds no other data on you or your user account, and all records of your account being present will be completely removed.

Thank you so much for supporting Snort.  With over 600,000 active user accounts and about 1000 new accounts created every week, our community continues to grow at a rapid pace.

No comments:

Post a Comment